Let the Goodbyes Begin

Well the dreaded time of saying goodbye to great friends and such an important time in my life has finally arrived.  It’s not that I don’t look forward to all of the exciting things that come with graduating from college, but it is hard to imagine not returning with all of the other students in the fall.  Luckily I am friends with so many brilliant girls from the year below me, and I know that I will always have a place to stay when I need to escape back to campus and revert into my college lifestyle for a weekend.

As move-out day approached for the younger girls there were a variety of get togethers and special moments as we soaked up every last minute with one another.  I thought of bringing my camera out for all of them, but I wanted to live in the moment, not watch it all unfold through a camera lens.  Lucky for me, others had their cameras, and I did sneak mine out a few times.  What can I say, I’m an artist, I just had to!

Image

This week I finally made it to Quincy’s.  It’s an adorable little cafe in town and I have been dying to go for ages!  I went first with my mom, and then a few days later with Caitlin.  Both trips were absolutely fantastic.

The food was top notch (no photos – but it was a massive sandwich filled with turkey, avocado, cream cheese, on delicious sourdough bread) and the coffee was even better.  The cappuccino was probably the best I’ve had since Italy, and it was so strong that before I was even halfway done with my cup, lovingly filled to the top with foam, I was completely buzzed, talking a million miles per hour.  Thank goodness my mom has plenty of experience deciphering my babbling.  She’s the absolute best.

When I returned a few days later with Caitlin it took everything in my power not to order one of their pastries.  I decided instead to test out the Milk and Honey Latte.  It was absolutely to die for!  I wasn’t sure how I would like honey with coffee, but it was such a delicious combo, and it was topped off perfectly with a swirl of whipped cream drizzled with honey.

Image

I could not have asked for a lovelier morning than that – sitting with Caitlin, chatting about our futures, and sipping on our warm coffee and tea.  It was bittersweet, as so many moments this past week have been.  The week leading up to graduation is bound to be equally bittersweet, but there is so much to look forward to as we make the most of our final days as college students!

Leave a Reply

