Post-Grad

Post-grad.  Words that when put together are both exciting and terrifying.  On one hand it is the sign of a great accomplishment.  A marker of the beginning of a new (and hopefully exciting) chapter.  On the other hand it is the end of what most people call the greatest years of their lives.

DSC01650

DSC01653

DSC01655

For the first time in my entire life I am going into this summer with no idea what is waiting for me come August.  No more sweltering dorm move-in’s, lines for textbooks, or happy reunions with great friends. I envision August onward as a giant black hole in my datebook.  With all this uncertainty, I was more than thrilled to make the most of each precious moment as I brought it all to an end.

IMG_2311

A few hours after the Commencement ceremony was over we began our first big party at Kaitlyn’s family’s new home.  It’s a lovely old farm house not too far from campus, with a large kitchen and yard, perfect for bringing all of our families together.  Little ones were running wild everywhere, while all of our parents met and chatted about everything under the sun.

My fellow graduates and I went on about our future plans (or lack there of in some cases) to one another’s families, and had a wonderful time with each other, knowing it would be the last time we were all together for quite some time.  We even had a six person, roommate huddle where we pretended to talk about really important things, but mostly we just wanted a group hug without judgement.

967167_10201437405361742_148582464_o-2

The next day the chaos of moving out of our apartments ensued, and no one was left unscathed.  It is truly shocking how much four girls can accumulate over the course of an academic year.  Although nothing will ever compare to my beautiful home at the Hotel Tiziano, this apartment really held its own and I was heartbroken to have to say goodbye to it.

Fully rested and recovered from the move-out, my family and I headed a short trip away to New Buffalo, Michigan for a celebratory dinner.  Brewster’s Italian Cafe is a quiet little spot with fabulous food.

IMG_0054

They have a really great Dinner for Two offer which allowed us to try all kinds of things.  All of it was delicious, but my favorite was undoubtedly the gluten free pizza loaded with spinach, roasted red peppers, and melty cheese.

IMG_0050

Having ordered our coffee and desert to go we made our way to the beach so we could enjoy our after dinner treats with the sunset and the sand.  My niece and nephew could not handle a single second more cooped up in the restaurant, so the fresh air and freedom to run and yell was much appreciated by all.

IMG_0076

Sitting at the beach with the people I love the most and a beautiful sunset, I couldn’t have asked for anything more. A lovely end to a lovely day, weekend, year, college career … all of the above.  But also a lovely beginning to a new chapter.

Leave a Reply

