Dress the Part

I don’t think I could even begin to count the number of times I have been faced with the task of styling someone for an interview.  It’s a very steady part of my work week.  So many of our customers come in looking to splurge a little on a whole new interview outfit because there is just simply no denying that when you look great, you feel great.  Half the battle of trying to snag a new job is walking in and looking like you already have the position.

And still, when the tables were turned on me a few days back, I had that horrifying moment of looking at my closet and experiencing that “I HAVE NOTHING TO WEAR!” panic that always seems to occur before any big event.  (disclaimer:  At risk of sounding like a total brat, I know I clearly have more than enough options as seen below.)

IMG_4056

So I took the advice I’d given to so many women before me and made a few little upgrades to my wardrobe.  After all, I am a college graduate now, and at the very least I should have a perfect blazer!

I was torn at first between taking the safe route and going with a timeless and traditional jacket or branching out to a style that had a bit more personality.  Naturally, I couldn’t resist the latter, and opted to go with a military inspired Ponte knit jacket from White House Black Market.  With all of the details it’s like a little work of art.

IMG_3972-2

I paired the jacket with the most adorable tweed skirt from Loft, opaque black tights, and a vintage WHBM (and by vintage I mean 2009-ish) shell.  By combining some of my older items with my new pieces, I was able to create a look that allowed me to walk into the interview with all of the confidence in the world without spending an absolute fortune.

IMG_3965-2

IMG_3966-2

Although this isn’t an outfit that would be suitable for all industries, as someone in the Art/Fashion world, I am able to step out of the box a little bit more with elements like the tweed skirt and less traditional jacket.

No word yet on whether or not I got the job, but based on the interviewers comments I’d say the outlook is good.  Here’s to new adventures!

Leave a Reply

