Gluten Free Cinnamon Banana Muffins

IMG_4190

As far back as I can recall I have memories of my mom taking the bananas that my sister and I rejected because of their speckled, overripe state, and transforming them into delicious loaves of banana nut bread.  When I was living on my own at school, I took to making the same recipe as muffins so I could quickly grab them on my way to class.  It has always been a perfect way to use up bananas that have gotten far too ripe for eating.

Within the last two years both my mom and my sister were diagnosed with Celiac disease.  They have both been so much better off since removing gluten from their diets, but the idea of saying goodbye to gluten filled foods forever sends a knife straight through my heart.

I follow their gluten free diet when I am with them, but when I’m on my own it’s a whole different ballgame.  Still, since their diagnoses I have essentially cut out the banana bread and muffins because lord knows, I do not need to be eating a whole batch by myself.

After noticing we had some gnarly looking bananas in our kitchen today, I decided the wait was over.  Time to try a gluten free version of our favorite muffins!

IMG_4154

Ingredients:

(makes 12 muffins)

¾ c. granulated sugar

½ c. butter

2 eggs

1 cup mashed banana (approx. 3 medium)

1 t. salt

2 c. gluten free all purpose baking mix (I used this one from Arrowhead Mills)

3 t. baking powder

½ t. cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350°

Using extremely ripe bananas (anything from dark yellow and a little splotchy to brown will suffice), use a fork to mush the bananas until they are a smooth consistency.  By the time you are finished they should look like a gooey mess.

In a mixer cream together sugar and butter.  Add eggs; whip until light and fluffy.  Add the smashed bananas.

In a separate bowl sift together the dry ingredients.

Gradually add the dry ingredients to the whipped mixture.

Scoop even amounts of the mixture into a well greased muffin tin.

IMG_4163

IMG_4167

Bake for about 23 minutes.  I like my baked goods a little doughy, so they could probably stand to cook 1-2 more minutes longer according to personal preference.

While the muffins were still nice and warm from the oven I slathered on a bit of butter and gave them a try.

IMG_4171

IMG_4186

IMG_4196

The final product turned out to be ABSOLUTELY AMAZING.  Honestly the only difference I could really sense was a slightly different texture.  The dough seemed much stiffer than usual as I was scooping it into the muffin tin, and after baking they were maybe a smidge more dense than the gluten-y recipe.  Other than that small change they were just as good as ever … in fact … I think I liked them even more!

IMG_4176

Fingers crossed I can keep my paws off of them long enough to take them with me this weekend when I go to visit my sister and her family!

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Cinnamon Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

