New York City

This past week I had the most incredible opportunity to interview for a dream position in New York City.  I was overwhelmed with a level of excitement that I hadn’t felt since the day I packed my bags and headed off to Paris, the city of my dreams.

IMG_5462

Arriving in New York I had already played out in my mind how perfectly the trip would go.  And it did.  Ultimately, it did go perfectly.

IMG_5458

IMG_5449

IMG_5495

IMG_5507

But in the spirit of full disclosure, my first day in the city was awful.  I had hardly eaten, slept no more than a few hours, my hotel room was sketchy, and my phone (with the map I was counting on as if my life depended on it) was dying with nowhere to charge it.  I was even forcefully asked to leave 30 Rock/NBC studios after being discovered sneakily trying to charge up my phone in a back hallway.  With nowhere to go, and desperately trying to avoid my hotel room I set off wandering completely aimlessly.

IMG_5452

IMG_5540

IMG_5541

For a few hours New York City hated me.  And you know what?  I kind of hated it back.  In my head all I could think was, if I can’t make it here, then I can’t make it anywhere.  But then, with some help from friends and family on the other end of my quickly dying phone and the bright lights of Times Square I was brought back to my senses.

IMG_5560

IMG_5586

What they say about Times Square feeling like the center of the universe couldn’t be more true.  I was completely awestruck by my surroundings when I realized was already halfway through the battle.  I took on one of the greatest cities in the world all alone, and although it put up a good fight, it didn’t beat me.  Sitting in Times Square I was finally able to see the true beauty of NYC come shining through and I knew right then that the rest of my trip would be perfect.  I had just survived day one and it could only go up from there.  Plus, the promise of a world famous Cronut waited on the horizon and realistically, nothing can go wrong when you have a Cronut within reach.

IMG_5632

IMG_5654

IMG_5670

So with a happier heart, and an inspirational photo of Leo (see above), I made my way back to my hotel to rest up for the two amazing days I had ahead of me.

Leave a Reply

