The End of a Rome Girl Era

The last few weeks the wheels of change have been moving in fast-forward.  It seems like it was just Valentine’s Day and Easter, and yet before I knew it May was here and the time for lasts had arrived with it.  A year ago as my college graduation came and went it was a solemn affair by all means – but I was able to rest easy knowing so many of my closest friends had another year at Saint Mary’s.  By default I kind of knew in the back of my head that for one more year I would always have a futon to sleep on and someone to swipe me into the dining hall, and therefore my days of college fun had yet to come to a close.

IMG_7355

IMG_7357

And yet just as my own senior year did, my friends’ final year at SMC flew by.  As May arrived so did my final two real visits.  After an afternoon of chatting on the lawn and sleepover festivities (aka copious amounts of junk food and ample giggling) Sophia and I hit the hay so we could rest up for the Alumnae Brunch the next morning.

IMG_5539

The Alumnae Brunch stands as the first official event that the class of 2014 grads attend as Saint Mary’s Alumnae.  Although the spread for last year’s brunch was less than thrilling (when did a small salad and a slice of cake become brunch??), I was excited to join the younger Rome girls as they joined the ranks of the alumnae.

IMG_5543

IMG_5553

The brunch food was just as lame as last year’s, but the company was equally divine.

IMG_5552

IMG_5548

IMG_5561

One week later, with their senior week festivities behind them, it was time for the girls to take the final step and make it all official.  Before the ceremony began the audience was abuzz – yes, that was thunder, but the chance of rain was only 10% !  As the procession began we had a few tiny rain drops, and by the time the speeches started we were all sitting in a full on downpour.

IMG_5608

IMG_7527

IMG_7530

IMG_7540

IMG_7541

IMG_5592

Never fear though!   In true Indiana style the sun came shining through 20 minutes later and stuck around for the rest of the day.  Perfect weather for showing off some shiny new diplomas, eh?

IMG_5603

IMG_7588

IMG_5612

IMG_5604

IMG_5605

IMG_7582-2

IMG_7586

IMG_7590

I couldn’t be prouder of the last of my best friends to graduate from Saint Mary’s.  It’s bittersweet as it is the closing of a chapter for all of us, but I can’t wait to see the all of the ways the class of 2014 Rome Girls and my own from 2013 go on to change the world … based on what I’ve seen so far I think we have a lot to look forward to.

IMG_7605

IMG_7603

IMG_7601

IMG_7599

Ciao for now SMC, we’ll all be home soon. 🙂

IMG_7614

Leave a Reply

